Each year, the Springfield Ambulance Corps sponsors a $5,000 scholarship to be awarded to a graduating senior from Springfield High School. The scholarship monies are distributed to the recipient in the amount of $1,250 each year for 4 years.

The Board of Directors of the Springfield Ambulance Corps elected to name the scholarship in honor of Bill Myers, a long-term Corps member and, when the scholarship was created, perhaps the oldest active Emergency Medical Technician in the Commonwealth.

Bill had led, and continues to lead, a life of exceptional accomplishment. He is a World War II veteran who served as a medic in the South Pacific. Following the war, he was employed by the Vertol Helicopter Corporation, from which he retired in 1986. Following retirement, Bill joined the Corps, where he was consistently a Top 10 runner and served as a Lieutenant and Vehicle Director. In his tenure with the Corps, he has responded to more than 11,000 emergency calls, arguably the most responses made from a volunteer in the Commonwealth.

The Springfield Ambulance Corps offers the scholarship to a student who strives for the high ideals and excellence that Bill has displayed.
Qualifications for the scholarship include:

  • The student shall be accepted to a college or university with plans to pursue a degree in a medical field.
  • The student shall demonstrate involvement and leadership in the community.
  • The student shall show commitment to teamwork.
  • The student shall submit an essay describing his or her personal goals in his or her career in medicine. The student should note if he or she has an interest in Emergency Medicine.
  • The student shall submit 2 letters of recommendation from faculty members.
  • The student shall carry a 3.5 GPA at the time of the award and maintain a 3.0 or better throughout college.

Potential scholarship recipients are determined by the Springfield High School Guidance Department with the final selection made by the Springfield High School principal and scholarship committee.

2020 – Olivia Pace
2019 – Samantha Padilla
2018 – Chloe Borgesi
2017 – Alyssa Decker
2016 – Julia Bingaman (Pennsylvania State University)
2015 – Shannon N. Hagarty (Pennsylvania State University, Schreyer Honors College)
2014 – Aiswarya S. Thomas (Franklin and Marshall College)
2013 – Sneha S. Jose (University of the Sciences in Philadelphia)
2012 – Matthew M. Fox (University of the Sciences in Philadelphia)
2011 – Nicole D’Avella (Drexel University)